Do You Remember?

Do you remember who won the College World Series last year?

What about the Super Bowl?

The MLB World Series?

Did you have to stop and think or were you able to answer at all? Unless you were my sports statistician husband or his co-workers and friends, my guess is that you, at least, had to think about it! Now here’s another question for you………………………………..

Who was your first teacher?

My guess is that you got this one right off the bat without thinking or having to get out a yearbook. Recently, during “Teacher Appreciation Week”, I saw several posts about teachers – naming your teachers K-5 grade. Didn’t have to think twice, although I didn’t post it. Spent some time remembering what made each of them special. So, in honor of teachers everywhere, I am sharing them here……………..

First Grade – Avis Burnette-I remember this sweet little grey haired lady who welcomed me into her classroom on the first day of school in 1966. I remember walking up to my classroom and finding my name on the list. The names of my close “girl” friends were missing and my Mom was disappointed. The only children I knew in my class were Greg Botts, my neighbor, and Hal Boutwell, Jim Drinkard, and Bobby Davis from Sunday School. Mrs. Burnette made it OK and new friendships were formed. Mrs. Burnette passed away in 1986 which would have made her 61 when she was my teacher.

Second Grade – Mayretta Strother – Loved this dear lady! I had the chicken pox in second grade and I remember her being really sweet to me. Mrs. Strother passed away in 2014 at the age of 82 which made her 41 when she was my teacher.

Third Grade – Louise Haisten– Strict is the first word that comes to mind when I remember Mrs. Haisten, but, I have to say, she has always been a favorite of mine. When class pictures were distributed, she gave me one of hers – it was a 3 x 5 and bigger than the ones she gave other students. She also gave me a kitten. Those two things made me feel really special. I learned cursive writing from her and not to walk across people’s yards. Mrs. Haisten passed away in 2003 at age 92 which made her 51 when she was my teacher.

Fourth Grade – Jane Senn –  I remember learning about articles from her – “a”, “an”, “the”, etc. I also remember her being the overseer of the arguments over Valentines – the ones in which the girls argued over who the boy liked most based on the Valentine he gave them. When she retired, she had 34 years teaching experience. Mrs. Senn passed away in January 2017 at the age of 92 which made her 44 when she was my teacher.

Fifth Grade – Geraldine Davis – This year brought lots of changes in the education system. Adjusting to a “new normal” brought challenges for both teachers and students. Mrs. Davis was a constant in that change, and helped ease that transition for me. Mrs. Davis recently passed away at the age of 85, which made her 38 when she was my teacher.

I found it interesting to consider their ages. To me, they weren’t young or old. Although, they were all experienced, I didn’t know that. I just knew they cared. As the quote says, “We may not remember everything you said, but we will remember how special you made us feel.” This quote would certainly apply to these ladies.

In thinking about “first” teachers, I could not help but be reminded of the first teachers for both of my daughters. Elle had Debbie Siemers for kindergarten at Taylorville Primary School. We loved Mrs. Siemers, especially for how she “got” Elle. She knew how to encouragement the heart of her children in the way she related to each them. What an encourager! Annie’s first teacher at Sprayberry was Hope Bailey. This Moma was a bit anxious about a 3 year old starting to school. That anxiety was soon alleviated as we got to know Mrs. Bailey. Not only was she an awesome “special needs” teacher, she was an awesome Mom to a daughter with special needs of her own. I will always be grateful to her, not only for what she taught Annie, but what she taught me.

Teachers do affect eternity. Most will never know how far their influence goes. So, to these teachers and all others who have influenced my life and that of my daughters….. THANK YOU!

In case you were wondering….

Coastal Carolina won the College World Series in 2016!

New England Patriots won the Super Bowl in 2017!

Chicago Cubs won the World Series in 2016!

Leave a Reply

