Read Across America…..at our House

It’s Read Across America Day 2012! Schools and libraries across the nation are honoring the birthday of Dr. Suess with reading celebrations! After getting out of school early for weather precautions, I thought I would just look around our house and see what we are reading!
Here are a few books I found…………
This week, we’ve been reading about cats! It was Ginger’s first major trip to the vet for boarding and for surgery. Ginger did great and we all learned alot in the process!
There are always musical books around our house – Annie’s favorite!
A Billy Graham Devotional Book – an awesome gift! We had the opportunity to visit the Billy Graham Library in Charlotte, N.C. last summer on our annual baseball trip. We received a personal tour from our friend and Director of The Billy Graham Library, Wayne Atcheson. Who knew that Billy Graham’s vision to share the love of Jesus Christ throughout the world began on a dairy farm?
What an incredible experience for our family! I would recommend it for anyone! For more information, visit www.billygrahamlibrary.org
I am reading, “Remember” by Karen Kingsbury, the second book of her Redemption Series. Karen is an inspiring author of Life Changing Christian Fiction. My Mother has read just about all of her books and I’m working on it! As soon as I finish one, I can’t wait to start another! You just feel like you know the characters in her books! I printed the entire list of her books from the website and I highlight each book as I read it. My goal is to read them all! They also make great gifts! If you aren’t familiar with her writing, check it out at www.karenkingsbury.com
Note: We made the bookmarks in each of the books. The first one is made of grosgrain ribbon, folded and sewn together, an eyelet placed at the top and a coordinating ribbon looped through it. We had it monogrammed. The others are made from large paper clips with ribbons tied at the top. We found the very large clips(in the Karen Kingsbury book)  in multiple colors at Dollar General. The large black/white paper clips came from Office Depot. Great bookmarks!
Like Dr. Suess said, “the more you read, the more things you will know”!
Happy “Read Across America Day”!

Leave a comment